Free accessible platforms

The Nineteenth Century American Sheet Music Collection at the UNC-Chapel Hill Music Library includes approximately 3,500 popular vocal and instrumental titles from the 1830s to the end of the century. This site contains catalog descriptions and digital images of the individual pieces in the collection. It was acquired as 125 bound volumes which were individually gathered by the original owners of the music, often young women who wanted to collect their favorite pieces of sheet music into one volume. In some cases, the original owner's name was embossed on the cover. Those volumes for which we have information about the owner can be accessed here

Digital copies of the music manuscripts of the composer.

Digital copies of the music manuscripts of the composer.

The Bodleian Library has unparalleled holdings of over 30,000 ballads in several major collections. The original printed materials range from the 16th- to the 20th-Century. The Broadside Ballads project makes the digitised copies of the sheets and ballads available to the research community.

The listed sources each open in a new window. With the menu on the right side of the top of the screen, certain pages, phrases, song titles, etc. can be selected directly. The size and position of the windows can be changed as desired.

CPDL was founded in December 1998, ported to ChoralWiki in August 2005,
and incorporated in May 2010 as a U.S.A. 501(c)(3) tax-exempt charitable organization.
Here you will find free choral/vocal scores, texts, translations, and other useful information

Welcome to the CMME Project, a scholarly initiative to offer free online access to new, high-quality early music scores produced by today's leading experts. Based at Utrecht University in the Netherlands, the project represents a collaborative development effort of specialists in musicology, information science, and music retrieval. The major purpose of the enterprise is to produce and maintain an online corpus of electronic editions, in addition to software tools making them accessible to students, scholars, performers, and interested amateurs. Here, the brilliant polyphonic styles known to the modern world through the works of such masters as Dufay, Josquin, Machaut, Palestrina, and Tallis can come to life again in the central medium of the 21st century.

DIAMM (the Digital Image Archive of Medieval Music) is a leading resource for the study of medieval manuscripts. We present images and metadata for thousands of manuscripts on this website. We also provide a home for scholarly resources and editions, undertake digital restoration of damaged manuscripts and documents, publish high-quality facsimiles, and offer our expertise as consultants.

In this collection all the music manuscripts of all compositions of Alphons Diepenbrock (1862-1921) are filed. The music of Alphons Diepenbrock belongs to the highlights of the Dutch music history.

Loeb Music Library's digital collection of scores and libretti, selected for their rare or unique natures and their popularity as objects of research and teaching.

Mainly vocal music in a format, for which you have to download the free reader Scorch on your computer. The advantage is that you can listen to the sheet music in an adjustable tempo and transpose. The online sheet music is part of the e-concerthouse virtual library.

This collection holds digitised images of some of the world's oldest surviving volumes of printed music.

Contemporary, classical and educational free sheet music for all instruments. Free-scores.com is a free and legal platform for composers, arrangers and publishers.

Free classical guitar music.

The Rare Book, Manuscript, and Special Collections Library at Duke University holds a significant collection of 19th and early 20th century American sheet music. The Historic American Sheet Music Project provides access to digital images of 3042 pieces from the collection, published in the United States between 1850 and 1920.

Almost 400 works of Händel are digitized and accessible.

ViFaMusik is part of the project "Specialized Information Services Musicology" which is funded by the German Research Foundation. ViFaMusik, the central portal for music and musicology, allows you to access an extensive digital library containing the latest scholarly research and online resources. Using a single search engine you can find bibliographical data, full text data, and information about experts in musicology. ViFaMusik is “work in progress” and is continuously being extended.

The Petrucci Music Library has a goal to create a virtual library containing all public domain music scores, as well as scores from composers who are willing to share their music with the world without charge. The Petrucci Music Library also encourages the exchange of musical ideas, both in the form of musical works and in their analysis.

The Library and Archives Canada sheet music collection has grown to become the most comprehensive in the country, and includes over 20,000 patriotic and parlour songs, piano pieces, sacred music and novelty numbers, some dating back to the 1700s. Besides the expected Canadian imprints, it includes music by Canadians or about Canada published anywhere in the world. Many of the cover illustrations are of particular interest.

Notated music collection of the Library of Congress. Holds more than 94.000 online items.

Combined collection of the Bayerischen Staatsbibliothek and the Libretto collection of the German Historic Institute in Rome.

Digitized sheet music of the
Gesamtausgabe, published by Julius Rietz between 1874 and 1877 (Breitkopf & Härtel).

All scores of Mozart, as published in Die Neue Mozart Ausgabe of publisher Bärenreiter digital available, with notes (Kritische Berichte).

A searchable, editable, and expandable collection of tunes, melodies, and musical themes.

The Mutopia Project offers sheet music editions of classical music for free download. These are based on editions in the public domain of Bach, Beethoven, Chopin, Handel, Mozart and many others.

Digital copies of the music manuscripts of the composer.

Digitized version of the Gesamtausgabe, published by Clara Schumann and Johannes Brahms betweenn 1879 and 1893 (Breitkopf & Härtel)

Toegankelijke website ingedeeld naar instrument/bezetting met gratis downloadbare bladmuziek van het klassieke standaard repertoire

Extensive platform with15.913 sheet music and scores, 2.171.750 tabs and chords,
2.741.592 lyrics,
40.869 backtracks and accompaniment, 19.274 mp3 and midi.

The Sheet Music Consortium is a group of libraries working toward the goal of building an open collection of digitized sheet music.

The sheet music collection is part of a larger collection amassed by Charles Templeton, Sr. which also includes music players and recordings. Digitization of the collection is part of an ongoing effort to provide broader access to titles. A large portion of these pieces are in the public domain (not copyrighted) and are available for download directly from the site. Some restricted titles are available upon request.

Lester S. Levy Collection of Sheet Music consists of over 29,000 pieces of American popular music. The collection spans the years 1780 to 1980, but its strength is its throrough documentation of nineteenth-century America through popular music.

Notated music collection of the Library of Congress. Holds more than 94.000 online items.

The Sheet Music Consortium is a group of libraries working toward the goal of building an open collection of digitized sheet music.