Research Data Repositories

Re3data is a global registry of research data repositories that covers research data repositories from different academic disciplines. It includes repositories that enable permanent storage of and access to data sets to researchers, funding bodies, publishers, and scholarly institutions. re3data promotes a culture of sharing, increased access and better visibility of research data. The registry has gone live in autumn 2012.

A curated, informative and educational resource on data and metadata standards, inter-related to databases and data policies.

The Financial Times is one of the world’s leading news organisations, recognised internationally for its authority, integrity and accuracy. It is part of Nikkei Inc., which provides a broad range of information, news and services for the global business community.

The International Monetary Fund (IMF) is an organization of 189 countries, working to foster global monetary cooperation, secure financial stability, facilitate international trade, promote high employment and sustainable economic growth, and reduce poverty around the world.

Economists in the Research Division have a primary responsibility to conduct research. Our economists publish in numerous refereed journals and present at conferences all over the world. Economists develop their own research topics; then, in a collegial environment, they are challenged to move their ideas even further. All the necessary supports are in place to allow them to focus on what they do best—research.

Built and developed by researchers, to ensure that everyone can join in Open Science. The need for a catch-all is not restricted to one funder, or one nation, so the concept caught on, and Zenodo rapidly started welcoming research from all over the world, and from every discipline.

Figshare is a repository where users can make all of their research outputs available in a citable, shareable and discoverable manner.

The Dryad Digital Repository is a curated resource that makes research data discoverable, freely reusable, and citable. Dryad provides a general-purpose home for a wide diversity of data types.
Dryad’s vision is to promote a world where research data is openly available, integrated with the scholarly literature, and routinely re-used to create knowledge.

A service of the Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR), openICPSR is a self-publishing repository for social, behavioral, and health sciences research data. openICPSR is particularly well-suited for the deposit of replication data sets for researchers who need to publish their raw data associated with a journal article so that other researchers can replicate their findings.

Informal platform for datasets. Be cautious using them.

Dataverse is an open source web application to share, preserve, cite, explore, and analyze research data. It facilitates making data available to others, and allows you to replicate others' work more easily. Researchers, journals, data authors, publishers, data distributors, and affiliated institutions all receive academic credit and web visibility.

Easy offers sustainable archiving of research data and access to thousands of datasets. Easy is hosted by DANS (Data Archiving and Networking Services), an institute of KNAW and NWO.

Since 2010 data.gov.uk has been helping people to find and use open government data, and supporting government publishers to maintain data. Content consists of data published by central government, local authorities and public bodies, links to download data files and help on creating an account to publish data.

The UK Data Service is funded by the Economic and Social Research Council (ESRC) to meet the data needs of researchers, students and teachers from all sectors, including academia, central and local government, charities and foundations, independent research centres, think tanks, and business consultants and the commercial sector

Open data platform of the USA. Possible to search geographically or in categories (subjects). Publish data and share. Find data and build. Answer questions.

The European Data Portal harvests the metadata of Public Sector Information available on public data portals across European countries. Information regarding the provision of data and the benefits of re-using data is also included.

Search for research outcomes (publications, datasets, software, other research products), projects, organizations, content providers in an European Union funded platform.

The ODISSEI Portal combines metadata from a wide variety of research data repositories into a single interface, allowing for advanced semantic queries to support findability, and facilitate data access. The portal is under active development and features and content will be improved throughout the ODISSEI Roadmap project.

Harvard Dataverse is a free data repository open to all researchers from any discipline, both inside and outside of the Harvard community, where you can share, archive, cite, access, and explore research data. Each individual dataverse is a customizable collections of datasets (or a virtual repository) for organizing, managing, and showcasing datasets.

DSpace@MIT is a digital repository for MIT's research, including peer-reviewed articles, technical reports, working papers, theses, and more.

Stanford University, officially Leland Stanford Junior University, is a private research university in Stanford, California. Stanford is ranked among the top five universities in the world in major education publications.

arXiv is a free distribution service and an open-access archive for 1,777,025 scholarly articles in the fields of physics, mathematics, computer science, quantitative biology, quantitative finance, statistics, electrical engineering and systems science, and economics. Materials on this site are not peer-reviewed by arXiv.

Pew Research Center is a nonpartisan fact tank that informs the public about the issues, attitudes and trends shaping the world. It conducts public opinion polling, demographic research, media content analysis and other empirical social science research. You have to register if you would like to search for datasets.

DBpedia is a crowd-sourced community effort to extract structured content from the information created in various Wikimedia projects. This structured information resembles an open knowledge graph (OKG) which is available for everyone on the Web. A knowledge graph is a special kind of database which stores knowledge in a machine-readable form and provides a means for information to be collected, organised, shared, searched and utilised. Google uses a similar approach to create those knowledge cards during search. We hope that this work will make it easier for the huge amount of information in Wikimedia projects to be used in some new interesting ways.

Search and find datasets from domain-specific and cross-domain repositories.

Data Planet simplifies data analysis by providing an all-in-one resource for social science researchers and students to access statistics relevant to their areas of study.