LibKey Nomad

LibKey Nomad is a handy companion browser extension that supports your desk research. The extension makes searching outside the Hanze Library collection easier. It provides one-click access to scholarly articles that are available in our collection, in other databases, or as open access sources. Nomad is a light-weight extension that does not require an account.

 

Nomad uses the same underlying technology as BrowZine. The application generates full-text and journal links on publisher sites such as Wiley, Elsevier, Cambridge and Springer, but also on Google Scholar, Wikipedia, PubMed, Web of Science, Scopus and more. 

 

Once LibKey Nomad is installed, select your library and look for buttons with a green droplet icon on the websites you visit. The extension will notify you with a message "Provided by Hanzehogeschool Groningen" in the bottom left of your browser window when you visit a supported website. Depending on the availability of the article, the buttons lead you to the full-text version of an article. 

 

Buttons explained

LibKey Nomad displays various buttons on supported websites, based on the type of article and availability:

• Download PDF - The item is instantly available as a PDF full-text download
• Article Link - A direct link to the full-text article page is available
• Manuscript PDF - Instant download of the (author accepted) manuscript, this may not be the final, published version of the article
• Manuscript Link - Direct link to the full-text (author accepted) manuscript page
• Access Options - No immediate access to the article (but you can try request it from another library) 
• View Complete Issue - Full journal issue available on the BrowZine platform, allowing you to find additional, relevant articles

 

Other libraries

The extension itself does not require any institutional login. An institutional login is only required when you click a full-text button. If you have access to another library and articles are not available in the currently selected library, choose another library (e.g. Groningen University Library for walk-in, guest, student or employee access). Just remember to refresh the webpage after changing your library. 

 

LibKey Nomad is available as a free extension for most popular browsers:

• Chrome
• Edge
• Firefox
• Safari
• Brave
• Vivaldi

 

At the moment of writing, LibKey Nomad only provides links to articles. In the future the extension also provides links to Hanze Library e-books on publisher sites, Amazon, Wikipedia and Google Books! Install the extension now so you won't miss this release.