Frequently Asked Questions
How do I download the BrowZine app?
The BrowZine app is available for Android and iOS mobile devices. If you're looking for the browser version, simply navigate to Browzine.com. It also works well on mobile devices.
Download the app, by searching for 'browzine' in the app store. The app is free to download. There should be only one matching app (BrowZine) to this query. You can also use this link: thirdiron.com/download
How do I select the Hanze Library in BrowZine?
Click the button "Choose my library" or change your library within your BrowZine account settings a]ter downloading the mobile app or using browzine.com. You can find the Hanze Library under "Hanzehogeschool Groningen". Additionally, the following link will automatically open the Hanze Library collection: Browzine.com. You can also find this link in our A-Z list of databases.
Are BrowZine web links durable 'permalinks' suitable for saving or sharing?
Yes! All links in BrowZine, whether it's for a category of titles, a journal's table of contents, or a specific article, are durable and can be used safely in course materials or shared with others. You can also use the HanzeWorldCat permalinks instead (e.g. https://hanze.on.worldcat.org/oclc/5679156464), or directly link to the publisher's website.
How does the BrowZine subject taxonomy work?
BrowZine has created a classification system that works across naming conventions and is flexible and extensible. This allows you to quickly identify journals relevant to subject areas of interest. Existing classification authorities have been consulted to create a taxonomy that successfully enhances the browsability of large journal collections. Categories may be assigned or deleted from time to time just like in any other classification system. If you have any suggestions to improve discoverability, BrowZine welcomes your input. Please contact us at databanken@org.hanze.nl.
I already logged in with my Hanze account, why do I need another account?
Your Hanze account is used to verify your identity and give you one-click access to full-text articles from the Hanze Library collection. Your password will never be shared with Third Iron or any other parties. On mobile devices, your password is encrypted and stored locally on your device for ease and convenience.
The BrowZine account is a separate account that enables all of the extra features BrowZine has to offer. A BrowZine Account is required for using My Bookshelf and My Articles across all mobile and desktop devices. Notifications are tied to the journals in My Bookshelf, so in order to use this feature this you will need a BrowZine account. Notifications will be sent to the email address provided during account creation.
Do I have to use a BrowZine account? Can I use BrowZine without one?
You do not need a separate BrowZine account to use the site. You can still browse the shelves, look up titles, read tables of contents, and download articles. However, in order to use the personalization features of My Bookshelf, My Articles and email notifications, a BrowZine account is required so that your data can be synchronized and backed-up across all devices.
I'm affiliated with multiple organizations — can I switch between them without affecting the information in my BrowZine account?
Yes! To do this go to the "Settings" area in BrowZine and tap on the "Change Library" button. You will be taken back to the "Choose Your Library" screen in BrowZine. Simply select the library you would like to access and login!
Because your BrowZine settings are saved to your BrowZine account, switching accounts does not affect your saved information and settings like bookshelves and articles.
Attention University of Groningen Library users - You have two 'libraries' to choose from: "University of Groningen" and "University of Groningen/UMCG (other users)". Select the former if you are a student or employee of the University Library with a dual affiliation. Select 'other users' if you are a Hanze researcher with a University Library guest account (GVO). You may need to log out of your Hanze account first because both institutions use the same SURFconext log in service. Visit Mijn Hanze to log out.
Why do I have to keep logging in to RefWorks?
Due to limitations in the RefWorks integration, your RefWorks account details can not be saved in BrowZine. Therefore you will have log in to RefWorks every session.
How do I change my notification settings?
Frequency of email notifications is easily changed by logging into a BrowZine account at Browzine.com, clicking on the settings "gear" icon in the top right corner, and then changing the setting as shown below. You can also disable them here, or click the 'Unsubscribe' link in the email notification itself.
Why are there two notification settings in my BrowZine account?
The first notification setting "Email Notifications" will allow you to set the frequency of email notifications or turn them off. The other setting "Enable Notifications" is only used for real-time browser notifications. According to BrowZine, browser notifications are an older feature and will likely be removed in a future update in favor of email notifications.
Which articles are included in the notifications?
Articles included in notifications are those which have been assigned to an issue. This specifically excludes "articles in press" and manuscripts as these articles are not always finalized and it avoids users receiving duplicate notifications. This covers both journals with a traditional publishing model (one issue at a time) as well as continuous publication styles where articles are added to an issue throughout the week/month/year.
My Outlook email notifications look unsafe and I don't see any pictures - what is going on?
If your email notifications look something like this, simply click the button to download pictures and choose to add the sender to your Safe Senders List. You will be able to see the pictures by adding the sender to the Safe Sender List. You only need to do this once.
The "Read Now" button in the email notification does not open the BrowZine mobile app
The links in the email notifications will always open the browser version of BrowZine. This website has a similar look and feel as the mobile app. If you are logged into your BrowZine account, all changes you make to your shelves, collections and settings will synchronize with the app within seconds.
Why can I not search for articles?
With BrowZine you can discover journals, keep track of publications and find articles by browsing. Searching articles is currently beyond the scope of BrowZine because it has many different requirements to it. To search for articles use HanzeWorldCat, search directly in one of our subscribed databases or use a free research database such as Google Scholar or Pubmed. The LibKey Nomad browser plugin also helps you to find subscribed library content.
How do I access the article options on iOS/Android?
After you've opened an article tap the icon in the top right corner of your screen. This will display various options for document management (shelves) and bibliographic management (citations).
How many articles and journals can I save on my personal shelves?
You can save a maximum of 500 articles and up to 64 journals in My Articles and My Bookshelves.
What is this "SJR" number that is displayed on most journal covers?
Not all journals (and articles) have the same value and impact within the scientific community. In order to determine this 'scientific prestige', objective valuation methods have been developed. The SCImago Journal Rank (SJR) or SJR2 is one such well-regarded method for ranking journals. The number of citations is used to calculate the rankings because this metric constitutes recognition of work. SJR also takes into account the thematic relationship between journals.
Why does BrowZine lead me to an open access version of an article instead of the subscribed journal/database version?
Using the fastest way possible, BrowZine leads you to the full-text version of an article. Published open access versions have priority because you don't have to log in! Even when an article is accessible in a subscribed database such as EBSCOhost, BrowZine will direct you to the open access version on the publisher website instead.
Why are some articles missing a PDF link?
Due to technical limitations, some websites make it difficult for BrowZine to produce PDF links. Other websites simply don't offer PDF versions of their articles.
Why is my favorite journal not available in BrowZine?
Inclusion in BrowZine requires two standards a publisher must meet:
- The publisher must create and distribute metadata as part of their publication process. This metadata is used by LibKey to provide the uniform display of journals in BrowZine;
- The publisher must assign a permanent linking structure to their articles such as DOIs. This ensures that links to full-text remain durable over time.
Some smaller publishers or independent titles may not meet these standards and cannot be included. However, Third Iron is committed to supporting as many publishers and titles as possible in BrowZine and LibKey. Please contact databanken@org.hanze.nl to suggest a journal for inclusion in BrowZine.
