Hanze Library Guides: Communication & Multimedia Design (English): Subject specific sources

[worldcat]

Databases for Communication & Multimedia Design

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary bibliographic and full-text database of thousand of journals including backfiles and video content from the Associated Press
Art & Architecture Source This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Art research database containing full-text journals, magazines and books and pictures covering fine, decorative and commercial art and architecture.
Business Source Ultimate This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text and bibliographic access to academic business economics journals and other publications (Books, Case Studies, Conference Proceedings Collections, Country Reports, SWOT Analysis, Working Papers)
Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
DOAJ is a large community-curated online directory that indexes and provides access to high quality, open access, peer-reviewed journals
SAGE Premier This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Electronic access to almost 1,000 peer-reviewed journals on Social Sciences & Humanities, Health, Life & Biomedical Sciences and Engineering & Physical Sciences
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Collection of thousands of full text academic journals and books published by Elsevier on a variety of subjects
To log in with your personal account, use this link
Springer Nature Journals This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A large collection of more than 2.000 journals on the Springer Nature Link platform.
Springer Nature Link platform This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Entry point for the large collection of journals, ebooks, articles and chapters on the SpringerLink platform
Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A multidisciplinary collection of online resources covering life, health and physical sciences, social science, and the humanities. It delivers integrated access to over 6 million articles from over 1500 journals, supplemented with separately purchased online books.

Communication and Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Access to full text and cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for journals covering communication, mass media, linguistics, rhetoric, language, logic, and other closely related fields
IEEE Xplore / IET Electronic Library (IEL) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Featuring content from IEEE as well as the Institution of Engineering and Technology (IET), IEEE Xplore contains almost one-third of the world’s current literature in electrical engineering, communications, eHealth and computer science.

Note: Until July 1, 2020 free access to the IEEE eLearning Library, which includes hundreds of hours of courses in new and emerging technologies. Go to Browse>Courses to see all eLearning course topics.
Oxford Communication Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Journals from the International Communication Association, published by Oxford University Press: Journal of Communication, Communication Culture & Critique, Communication Theory and Human Communication Research.

Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Database for full-text news articles and documents from thousands of national and international sources containing news, business and company information
Click here to create a personal account to enable more features such as alerts, notes, folders, and favorites.

Copyright notice: Do not enter or upload content you receive through Nexis Uni into external applications, bots, software or websites, including those using artificial intelligence technologies such as large language models and generative AI.
OECD iLibrary This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The online library of the Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD) featuring its books, papers and statistics
For data on energy and statistics, see IEA.
Our World in Data This link opens in a new window
Our World in Data is about open research and data to make progress against the world’s largest problems. Relying on the work of a global community of scholars, this database presents quality research and data in an understandable and accessible way, using charts where possible. The research publications are dedicated to a large range of global problems in health, education, violence, political power, human rights, war, poverty, inequality, energy, hunger, and humanity’s impact on the environment.
Passport (Euromonitor) This link opens in a new window
A global market research database providing insight and analyses on industries, economies and consumers worldwide. Available content: Categories & Countries, Consumers + Industrial
How to use Passport
REACH This link opens in a new window
Nederlandse bedrijfsinformatie; toegang tot de modules: Marketing, Middelgroot, Klein, Zeer klein, Eigendomsstructuren, Managers, Uitgeschreven bedrijven en MarketLine rapporten.

SAGE Premier This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Electronic access to almost 1,000 peer-reviewed journals on Social Sciences & Humanities, Health, Life & Biomedical Sciences and Engineering & Physical Sciences
Springer Nature Link platform This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Entry point for the large collection of journals, ebooks, articles and chapters on the SpringerLink platform
Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text database covering a broad range of subjects in the fields of psychology, behavioral sciences and related disciplines
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
A worldwide resource for abstracts and citations of behavioral and social science research. The database is produced and copyrighted by the American Psychological Association (APA).

Artgrid This link opens in a new window
Artgrid is a catalog focused on footage that inspires creativity and brings impact to your film. It offers story-driven footage from today’s top cinematographers from around the world.

Requests for specific footage can be sent to m.i.mohamed@pl.hanze.nl (AV-media) or b.g.venema@pl.hanze.nl (SCMI)
Artlist This link opens in a new window
Artlist is a platform that offers streamlined, high-quality music licensing and SFX for filmmakers and video creators. The music is created by a growing community of independent musicians and producers from around the world. It is updated constantly with new content.
Requests for specific songs can be sent to m.i.mohamed@pl.hanze.nl (AV-media) or b.g.venema@pl.hanze.nl (SCMI)
Go to My Videos tab in our Artlist account page to add your channel & video URLs to make sure you won't get a copyright claim in the future.
Britannica ImageQuest This link opens in a new window
Britannica ImageQuest contains over three million images and clip art from 62 leading collections, all rights-cleared for educational, non-commercial use with complete metadata for each image.
How to use Britannica ImageQuest
TFC Videocollectie This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Training video's on communication, feedback, management, motivation, presenting, teamwork, meetings and sales techniques.
Video Arts Training Video's This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Training video's on communication, feedback, interview techniques, management, motivation, presentations, teamwork, meetings and sales techniques

Magazines/Journals for Communication & Multimedia Design

The online journals can be accessed 24/7 using the Internet, also from home. You can search for articles using our catalogue Hanze WorldCat Discovery. You can also search for articles in the database(s) that contain certain journals.

You can also use BrowZine, using a computer or a tablet. Using BrowZine, you can navigate through and browse in magazines. You can also create your own online magazine reck with selected titles. Please see the video for more information.

Here are some examples of journals:

Printed journals can be found in Hanze Library. For many magazines we not only offer this year's issues, but also issues from previous years. These are available at request. Printed journals can't be lend, so they have to be used inside the library.

Websites for Communication & Multimedia Design

Chamber of Commerce (KvK)
The Chamber of Commerce (KvK) registers companies (Commercial Register). The Chamber of Commerce offers companies advice and support.

Economic Policy Analysis (CPB)
The Dutch Bureau for Economic Policy Analysis is a research institute that does scientific research (forecasting, analysis). This research contributes to the economic decision-making process of politicians and policymakers.
Eurostat
Statistical information assembled by the European Union.
Government Support for Entrepreneurs
This organisation offers entrepreneurs information and advice from the government and semi-public sector.
Statistics Netherlands (CBS)
Lots of statistical information and data on various subjects. Gives insight in e.g. social issues. Inlcudes news, reports etc. Figures are available through the statistical database StatLine.
StatLine CBS
Cijfers over Nederland
more...less...
Databank van het Centraal Bureau voor de Statistiek (CBS) met statistische informatie over Nederland. Het is mogelijk zelf tabellen en grafieken samen te stellen, te printen of te downloaden.