Europeana Collections

contains more than 50 million digitized objects:

• Images: paintings, drawings, prints, photos, images of museum objects, maps, graphic designs, plans, and musical notations,
• 3D: virtual 3D representations of objects, architecture or places,
• Texts: books, letters, archive documents, dissertations, poems, newspaper articles, manuscripts, and music scores,
• Video: films, news broadcasts, and television programs,
• Sound: music and spoken word from tapes, discs, and radio broadcasts.

The collection comes from 3,500 European cultural institutions: museums, galleries, libraries, and archives.

The huge collection of images can be searched by:

• search term(s) with or without media indication (image, 3D object, video, etc)
• theme collections - collects on topics such as Archeology, Art, Fashion, Maps, Music, Photography, Sports, World War I, and more;
• even more specific subjects, eg Art Nouveau glass, Art Nouveau ceramics, etc.;
• colors;
• sources (the participating cultural institutions);
• people - images from the collection relating to the lives and works of famous artists, composers, and other important figures in history;
• time periods, e.g., 1200-1299;
• exhibitions.

You can refine the results obtained by:

• collections (if you searched with a search term),
• type of media (if you searched without media),
• license,
• country of origin,
• language,
• digital platform (aggregator),
• institute.

The Europeana Collections contains copyrighted works, works with CC license as well as works from the Public Domain.

How do I know what can I (re)use?

• An interesting option for use in education is the collection 'Free to use images': images with permission for free reuse (CC0, CC BY, PD or CC BY-SA);

• Filter search results by 'Can I use this?' (license), and choose the most open licenses;

• If you do not use a license filter: a clear description is available for each item, which contains information about copyright.

Creating a Europeana account allows you to save your favorite items, and to create public and private galleries.

Likes

With a Europeana account, it's easy to save your favorite items for future reference. Simply click on the heart icon that you see on item pages and search results, and click again to un-like an item.

Galleries

Creating and building galleries of your favorite items is easy too. Simply click on the + symbol next to the item. You will then be prompted to 'Create new gallery' or add to an existing gallery.

In the My Likes & Galleries section of your account area, you can edit the names and descriptions of your galleries. You can choose whether to make your galleries private (visible to you only) or public (visible to other Europeana users).