Promo Minerva
What can you do at the Minerva Hanze Library?
- Studying,
- using magazines,
- borrowing books,
- consultation with teachers,
- group work,
- research into materials,
- organizing exhibitions of your work,
- ask your questions about literature research.
Can you drink coffee or eat in the library?
Yes you can, as long as they are not complete meals, it is not a problem.
Do you also have DVDs?
We have a very extensive DVD art collection and Art-house films, which can be borrowed for 3 weeks.
Can the magazines be loaned?
Yes, we have a very extensive magazine collection, ranging from architecture via theater, photography to computer art. These can all be borrowed for 1 week, of course you can also extend this 10x.
Can you scan in the library?
We have a separate scanner in the media library that is linked to 1 of the work PCs. The scanner can scan up to A3!
What do you need to borrow books?
Just like at the other locations of the Hanze Media Library you need your student / Hanze card.
Which lessons are often given in the library?
David Stroband holds his discussions with students in the library and points directly to the necessary books from the library and teacher Frank Hutchison gives portrait drawings and often takes students with him.
What exactly is the Materials Archive (Material Archiv)?
The Matrials Archive (Material Archiv) is a collaboration with art-related institutions from Switzerland. In the library we have a display with a selection of different materials. By scanning the QR code you will learn what kind of a material it is and for what purposes the material can be used. The library offers this way a unique source of information, an archive that is constantly on the move.
What do you use the display cabinet for?
We have had a display cabinet made where we exhibit special editions and editions of books. These are often expensive and should not be lent but only read in the media library.
Where can you go with your questions about literature research?
The information staff are always there for the first-line questions, if more extensive questions come, we email Afke Staats the information specialist for the arts, she will contact the student.
What are the opening hours of the library?
Minerva library is open every day from 9 a.m. to 5 p.m. On Thursdays until 7 pm.
Opening hours during holidays and bank holidays may vary. For current opening hours, we refer you to the website of the library, the Hanze Library App or to the service desk in the library.
Hanze Library on Instagram
Through our Instagram channel @HanzeLibrary we will keep you posted on adjusted opening hours, our databases and services. On Tuesdays we post about an interesting article from one of our databases and on Fridays we post a cool picture from the Britannica Image Quest database.
Which Library Guides on art resources are available for Minerva?
We currently have two: combined Music in Education (DOMU) and Fine Arts & Design in Education (DBKV) [both in Dutch: Docent Muziek (DOMU) en Docent Beeldende Kunst & Vormgeving (DBKV)] and Popular Culture Leewarden.
What databases on art topics does the library have?
- Artgrid This link opens in a new window
Artgrid is a catalog focused on footage that inspires creativity and brings impact to your film. It offers story-driven footage from today’s top cinematographers from around the world.
- Oxford Art Online (Formerly Grove Art) This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
The gateway to Oxford’s art reference works, including the peer-reviewed, regularly updated Grove® Dictionary of Art. Note: we do not have access to Benezit Dictionary of Artists.
A large encyclopedia of art, artists, art critics, art collectors, or anything else connected to the world of art, updated three times a year. Let op: geen toegang tot Benezit Dictionary of Artists. - Oxford Music Online (Formerly Grove Music) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A collection of music research with over 57,000 articles written by over 6,000 scholars charting the diverse history, theory and cultures of music around the globe. - Beeld en Geluid op School This link opens in a new window
Deze databank biedt online toegang tot tienduizenden uren actueel en historisch streaming video- en audiomateriaal voor het hoger onderwijs in Nederland, geselecteerd uit de archieven van het Nederlands Instituut voor Beeld en Geluid, de publieke omroepen en het Polygoon-journaal.
Do you also have a book market?
Yes, as in the other library locations, we have a book market every year, usually in March. Here you can get beautiful and handy books for € 2.00 AND you support charity because the entire proceeds go to charity.
Is the entire collection of books to be found in the library?
A part of the Hanze Library's collection can also be consulted outside the library. A number of relevant books can be found in the workshops, for example books on woodworking.