[worldcat]
Programs/Tools
Do you want to use SPSS to analyze your data? We have made a Library Guide about SPSS where you can learn all about installing and using the program. Check it out here.
Or are you taking on R as your statistical program? We also have a Library Guide to help you get started with R, check it out here.
Do you want to make a survey? The Hanze offers student accounts for the tool Enalyzer, but also provides free access to the Microsoft Forms tool. Read more about these two survey tools here.
Do you want to use ATLAS.ti to help with your qualitative research? We have a separate Library Guide talking you through the functionalities and how to get the free license. Just select the version you are (going to be) using:
Referencing is very important in your assignments, theses and later publications, but it can be tedious to keep track of all the different references you're using. You can use a reference manager to help you out with that. The Hanze has a license for RefWorks, meaning that you can use RefWorks for free! To read about the functionalities, see examples, and learn how to log in to RefWorks, check out this serparate Library Guide:
Of course it is still important to understand how referencing rules work. You can check out the APA style website, to see examples, compare editions 6 and 7 and read up on all the styling rules.
Newspapers
- Nexis Uni (formerly LexisNexis) This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Database for full-text news articles and documents from thousands of national and international sources containing news, business and company information
Dictionaries and thesauri
You can use the dictionaries and thesauri Hanze Library offers you to find (general) information on a subject and to find keywords for subjects. You will find definitions, synonyms and related subjects.
- Van Dale Online Dictionaries This link opens in a new window
Dutch dictionaries "Groot woordenboek van de Nederlandse taal" (Dikke van Dale), "Hedendaags Nederlands" and "Spellingshulp". Handbooks NL & ENG, translation dictionaries for NL to and from EN, DE, ES, FR, IT & SE.
Also includes Oxford Dictionary of English, Oxford Thesaurus of English, Oxford Hachette (FR-EN/EN-FR) and PONS (DE-FR/FR-DE).
Download the Van Dale App - see more information below
You can also use the thesaurus function several general databases like Business Source Premier offers you.
And there a thesauri available online (open access):
- EU Vocabularies
Multi-disciplinaire en meertalige thesaurus m.b.t. EU-activiteiten.
Psychology, behavior and health
Hanze Library offers several databases on psychology and health. The databases below, are just a few examples and only a part of our collection. In these databases, you will find more general information on health en (sdfdsldls) professional fields. They're not specifically on treatments etc. Of course you can find other databases on health in our A-Z list of databases.
These databases include information on psychology, behavior and health, but also offer information on other subjects:
- SAGE Premier This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Electronic access to almost 1,000 peer-reviewed journals on Social Sciences & Humanities, Health, Life & Biomedical Sciences and Engineering & Physical Sciences.
- SpringerLink platform This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Entry point for the large collection of journals, ebooks, articles and chapters on the SpringerLink platform (including BSL).
The following databases specifically offer information on psychology, behavior and health:
- Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text database covering a broad range of subjects in the fields of psychology, behavioral sciences and related disciplines. - PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
A worldwide resource for abstracts and citations of behavioral and social science research. The database is produced and copyrighted by the American Psychological Association (APA).
Theses and Research papers
In these databases you will find lots of theses of students and researchers.
- HBO Kennisbank This link opens in a new window
Search in around 55.000 publications of more than 25 universities of applied sciences.
- NARCIS This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
NARCIS retired on 3 July 2023 and is replaced by the Portal of Research Output from the Netherlands
National Academic Research and Collaborations Information System, access to scientific information, including (open access) publications from the repositories of all the Dutch universities, KNAW, NWO and a number of research institutes, datasets from some data archives as well as descriptions of research projects, researchers and research institutes.
- Portal of Research Output from the Netherlands This link opens in a new window
This portal presents Dutch research results and research projects and is fed by Dutch institutional repositories, data and software repositories and Research Information Systems (CRIS's).
Online resources
Besides using the Hanze Library databases, you can use suitable information sources available at the free Internet. Always check if the information you found online is reliable and relevant. Through official (governmental) organisations you can often find reliable information like statistics. You can think of:
- Chamber of Commerce (KvK)The Chamber of Commerce (KvK) registers companies (Commercial Register). The Chamber of Commerce offers companies advice and support.
- Economic Policy Analysis (CPB)The Dutch Bureau for Economic Policy Analysis is a research institute that does scientific research (forecasting, analysis). This research contributes to the economic decision-making process of politicians and policymakers.
- EurostatStatistical information assembled by the European Union.
- Government Support for EntrepreneursThis organisation offers entrepreneurs information and advice from the government and semi-public sector.
- Statistics Netherlands (CBS)Lots of statistical information and data on various subjects. Gives insight in e.g. social issues. Inlcudes news, reports etc. Figures are available through the statistical database StatLine.
Videos
In these databases you will find "how to" and "how not to" video's on several subjects, e.g. on communication. You will also find documentaries on all kinds of subjects. And lots more!
- Beeld en Geluid op School This link opens in a new window
Deze databank biedt online toegang tot tienduizenden uren actueel en historisch streaming video- en audiomateriaal voor het hoger onderwijs in Nederland, geselecteerd uit de archieven van het Nederlands Instituut voor Beeld en Geluid, de publieke omroepen en het Polygoon-journaal.
Hoe gebruik je Beeld en Geluid op School - TFC Videocollectie This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Training video's on the subjects of communication, feedback, interview techniques, management, motivation, presentation, team work, meetings and sales techniques. - Video Arts Training Video's This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Training video's on communication, feedback, interview techniques, management, motivation, presentations, teamwork, meetings and sales techniques
Printed journals
Printed journals can be found in Hanze Library. For many magazines we not only offer this year's issues, but also issues from previous years. These are available at request. Printed journals can't be lend out, so they have to be used inside the library.
To browse the printed journal collection, check out the catalogue, and tick the box 'Search print holdings only'.
Online journals
The online journals can be accessed 24/7 using the Internet, also from home. You can search for articles using our catalogue Hanze WorldCat Discovery. You can also search for articles in the database(s) that contain certain journals.
You can also use BrowZine, using a computer or a tablet. Using BrowZine, you can navigate through and browse in magazines. You can also create your own online magazine reck with selected titles. Please see the video below for more information.