Library collection
The Hanze Library offers a huge collection of both physical books and digital materials that can be reused or linked to for educational purposes.
The following types of materials from the Library collection may be used in the LMS:
- articles from various scientific databases;
- e-books from various collections;
- images from the Britannica Image Quest database;
- video from the Sound and Vision at School ('Beeld en Geluid op School') database.
Can't find what you were looking for, or looking for something specific?
Please feel free to ask your information specialist or the Hanze UAS Copyright Information Point for help via Support & Contact.
Academic articles
The Hanze Library owns licenses for a large number of scientific databases.
The license conditions for several of these databases allow for the use of their materials in the LMS.
These license conditions are understood to constitute direct authorisation by the copyright holder (the publisher) and take precedence over the conditions of the Easy Access agreement.
To determine whether this is the case, click the 'Permitted uses for this database' link in the A-Z list of databases, e.g.:
Databases that allow you to share their content on the LMS are:
- Britannica Academic,
- BSL NL Tijdschriften (via SpringerLink),
- Cochrane Library,
- Emerald Insight,
- FactoMedia-base,
- Fiscaal Totaal,
- OECD iLibrary,
- SAGE Premier,
- Science Direct,
- SpringerLink,
- Taylor&Francis Online
- Wiley Online Library
E-books
A number of e-book platforms allow for use in the LMS.
These are:
Want more information on e-books and e-books platforms? Check the Library Guide E-books Hanze Library (currently only available in Dutch).
Images from the Britannica Image Quest database
Teaching materials tend to contain a lot of images.
Finding images that can be shared freely can be challenging.
The Hanze Library provides access to the Britannica Image Quest database in order to help you in this process.
- Britannica ImageQuest This link opens in a new window
- all images are copyright-free for non-commercial, educational use
- by lecturers for the purpose of lesson plans, assignments, presentations and LMS;
- for use by students in assignments, reports and projects;
- the correct source acknowledgement (citation) can be easily determined by selecting the 'Cite' function for each image.
For more information on the database: searching the database, creating an account, saving multiple images in collections, etc., see the 'Online images - Image databases - BIQ' Library Guide.
Videos from the database Sound and Vision at School (Beeld en Geluid op School)
- Beeld en Geluid op School This link opens in a new window
This database provides online access to tens of thousands of hours of current and historical streaming video and audio material for higher education in the Netherlands, selected from the archives of the Netherlands Institute for Sound and Vision, the public broadcasters and the Polygoon news agency.
Tools to help you link to written content from the Hanze Library
The EBSCO LTI replaces the EBSCO Curriculum Builder.
The EBSCO LTI is a LMS tool that allows you to directly import content from EBSCO databases into LMS courses by means of a permalink. The tool also allows you to link to materials from other databases.
The use of links offers an added advantage, ensuring that your sources are always in compliance with copyright regulations. This also allows for reuse.
Course Reserves is a module within our WorldCat Discovery catalogue that allows you to create overviews of courses and the sources they draw on.
All the available sources in HanzeWorldCat can be reserved (selected) for the course/list you are creating.
The courses can be accessed through the Hanze WorldCat search bar.
Advantages:
- You can add explanations for each course at both overall course level and individual source level;
- You can specify the duration of the course;
- Each course has its own unique ID, allowing you to link from Blackboard or another source with the URL;
- Offers direct access to E-resources;
- You can access courses through WorldCat Discovery without logging in;
- You can browse courses by course name, lecturer, department, prefix, active (in progress) or inactive status, or all of the above.
Rights:
You will need to modify your role in the WorldCat Discovery system (the catalogue) in order to create a course in Course Reserves.
If you would like user rights to use Course Reserves, please contact the Library Systems information demand management department.
The Hanze Library wants to bring its collection and services as close as possible to education. Therefore, you can now easily integrate all content from Library Guides into Blackboard courses.
You add content from Library Guides to a content area within a course on Blackboard. This gives students direct access within Blackboard to literature, databases and the information and collection of the Hanze Library without having to leave Blackboard.
Want to check out other Hanze Library databases?
- A-Z list of databasesAn overview of all Hanze Library databases.
You can also narrow down the list of sources by filtering the A-Z list by:
- Subjects: fields, e.g. Economics, Technology, Social Sciences, etc.
- Types: the type of information you need, e.g.: statistical data, chemicals, newspapers, laws and regulations etc.
- Vendor/Provider: the publisher or provider.