[worldcat]
Online dictionaries and resources for search terms
- Britannica Academic This link opens in a new window
Britannica Academic Edition consists of the famous Encyclopaedia Britannica plus Merriam-Webster’s Collegiate Dictionary, magazines and periodicals, and many other research tools including a world atlas which provide a variety of reliable sources that are useful for conducting thorough collegiate research. - New Palgrave Dictionary of Economics This link opens in a new window
An encyclopedia of over 3,000 entries written by leading figures in the field of economics, regularly updated. - Van Dale Online Dictionaries This link opens in a new window
Dutch dictionaries "Groot woordenboek van de Nederlandse taal" (Dikke van Dale), "Hedendaags Nederlands" and "Spellingshulp". Handbooks NL & ENG, translation dictionaries for NL to and from EN, DE, ES, FR, IT & SE.
Also includes Oxford Dictionary of English, Oxford Thesaurus of English, Oxford Hachette (FR-EN/EN-FR) and PONS (DE-FR/FR-DE).
Keywords
Keywords are words or short phrases that represent the main ideas in your research topic or question. To come up with keywords, identify the most important words in your research question or topic.
As you search for sources using the keywords, you will identify new keywords from abstracts, subject terms and titles. You can revise your searches with new keywords and continue the process until you find relevant sources.
Synonyms
Synonyms are great to use when searching in databases, because databases only bring back results which contain the exact words you typed in. If you don't include synonyms you could miss out on some relevant sources.
To find keywords and synonims you can use dictionaries or an thesaurus
News database
- Nexis Uni (formerly LexisNexis) This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Database for full-text news articles and documents from thousands of national and international sources containing news, business and company information
Artikelen uit duizenden Nederlandse en buitenlandse kranten, tijdschriften en andere nieuwsbronnen en (inter)nationale bedrijfsinformatie. Dagelijkse aanvullingen (artikelen uit de Nederlandse ochtendkranten zijn al voor 9 uur beschikbaar)
Theses and Research papers
- Hanzehogeschool Groningen Research Database (Pure) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This database provides a clear overview of the research projects and output of the Hanze University of Applied Sciences Groningen from the Pure Research Information Management System. The lecturers and researchers at the Hanze University of Applied Sciences make their work accessible and discoverable to fellow researchers, (knowledge) institutions and other stakeholders. This database also gives a comprehensive insight into the networks of researchers and organisational units. - HBO Kennisbank This link opens in a new window
Search in around 55.000 publications of more than 25 universities of applied sciences.
- NARCIS This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
NARCIS retired on 3 July 2023 and is replaced by the Portal of Research Output from the Netherlands
National Academic Research and Collaborations Information System, access to scientific information, including (open access) publications from the repositories of all the Dutch universities, KNAW, NWO and a number of research institutes, datasets from some data archives as well as descriptions of research projects, researchers and research institutes.
- Portal of Research Output from the Netherlands This link opens in a new window
This portal presents Dutch research results and research projects and is fed by Dutch institutional repositories, data and software repositories and Research Information Systems (CRIS's).
More databases?
- Databases [A-Z]All Hanze Library databases at a glance.
Other helpful resources
Here you'll find some more interesting other LibGuides to check out.