Hanze Library Guides: International Finance &amp; Control: General sources

[worldcat]

Online dictionaries and resources for search terms

Britannica Academic This link opens in a new window
Britannica Academic Edition consists of the famous Encyclopaedia Britannica plus Merriam-Webster’s Collegiate Dictionary, magazines and periodicals, and many other research tools including a world atlas which provide a variety of reliable sources that are useful for conducting thorough collegiate research.
New Palgrave Dictionary of Economics This link opens in a new window
An encyclopedia of over 3,000 entries written by leading figures in the field of economics, regularly updated.
Van Dale Online Dictionaries This link opens in a new window
Dutch dictionaries "Groot woordenboek van de Nederlandse taal" (Dikke van Dale), "Hedendaags Nederlands" and "Spellingshulp". Handbooks NL & ENG, translation dictionaries for NL to and from EN, DE, ES, FR, IT & SE.
Also includes Oxford Dictionary of English, Oxford Thesaurus of English, Oxford Hachette (FR-EN/EN-FR) and PONS (DE-FR/FR-DE).
Download the Van Dale App to have these dictionaries always in reach:
1. Download the Van Dale App in the App Store or Google Play Store
2. Open the Van Dale App and tap the Surfconext-link below the login form
3. Choose Hanze University Groningen and log in with your Hanze account

Keywords

Keywords are words or short phrases that represent the main ideas in your research topic or question. To come up with keywords, identify the most important words in your research question or topic.

As you search for sources using the keywords, you will identify new keywords from abstracts, subject terms and titles. You can revise your searches with new keywords and continue the process until you find relevant sources.

Synonyms

Synonyms are great to use when searching in databases, because databases only bring back results which contain the exact words you typed in. If you don't include synonyms you could miss out on some relevant sources.

To find keywords and synonims you can use dictionaries or an thesaurus

Programs/Tools

Do you want to use SPSS to analyze your data? We have made a Library Guide about SPSS where you can learn all about installing and using the program. Check it out here.

Or are you taking on R as your statistical program? We also have a Library Guide to help you get started with R, check it out here.

Do you want to make a survey? The Hanze offers student accounts for the tool Enalyzer, but also provides free access to the Microsoft Forms tool. Read more about these two survey tools here.

Do you want to use ATLAS.ti to help with your qualitative research? We have a separate Library Guide talking you through the functionalities and how to get the free license. Just select the version you are (going to be) using:

Referencing is very important in your assignments, theses and later publications, but it can be tedious to keep track of all the different references you're using. You can use a reference manager to help you out with that. The Hanze has a license for RefWorks, meaning that you can use RefWorks for free! To read about the functionalities, see examples, and learn how to log in to RefWorks, check out this serparate Library Guide:

RefWorks Library Guide

Of course it is still important to understand how referencing rules work. You can check out the APA style website, to see examples, compare editions 6 and 7 and read up on all the styling rules.

News database

Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Database for full-text news articles and documents from thousands of national and international sources containing news, business and company information

Artikelen uit duizenden Nederlandse en buitenlandse kranten, tijdschriften en andere nieuwsbronnen en (inter)nationale bedrijfsinformatie. Dagelijkse aanvullingen (artikelen uit de Nederlandse ochtendkranten zijn al voor 9 uur beschikbaar)
Click here to create a personal account to enable more features such as alerts, notes, folders, and favorites.

Copyright notice: Do not enter or upload content you receive through Nexis Uni into external applications, bots, software or websites, including those using artificial intelligence technologies such as large language models and generative AI.

Theses and Research papers

Hanze Research Database (Pure) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This database provides a clear overview of the research projects and output of the Hanze University of Applied Sciences Groningen from the Pure Research Information Management System. The lecturers and researchers at the Hanze University of Applied Sciences make their work accessible and discoverable to fellow researchers, (knowledge) institutions and other stakeholders. This database also provides a comprehensive insight into the networks of researchers and organisational units.
HBO Kennisbank This link opens in a new window
Search in over 70.000 publications of more than 25 universities of applied sciences.
Portal of Research Output from the Netherlands This link opens in a new window
This portal presents Dutch research results and research projects and is fed by Dutch institutional repositories, data and software repositories and Research Information Systems (CRIS's).