[worldcat]
Helpful programs/tools
Do you want to use SPSS to analyze your data? We have made a Library Guide about SPSS where you can learn all about installing and using the program. Check it out here.
Or are you taking on R as your statistical program? We also have a Library Guide to help you get started with R, check it out here.
Do you want to make a survey? The Hanze offers student accounts for the tool Enalyzer, but also provides free access to the Microsoft Forms tool. Read more about these two survey tools here.
Do you want to use ATLAS.ti to help with your qualitative research? We have a separate Library Guide talking you through the functionalities and how to get the free license. Just select the version you are (going to be) using:
Referencing is very important in your assignments, theses and later publications, but it can be tedious to keep track of all the different references you're using. You can use a reference manager to help you out with that. The Hanze has a license for RefWorks, meaning that you can use RefWorks for free! To read about the functionalities, see examples, and learn how to log in to RefWorks, check out this serparate Library Guide:
Of course it is still important to understand how referencing rules work. You can check out the APA style website, to see examples, compare editions 6 and 7 and read up on all the styling rules.
News databases
- Nexis Uni (formerly LexisNexis) This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Database for full-text news articles and documents from thousands of national and international sources containing news, business and company information
- Krantenbank regionaal (NDC Redactiearchief) This link opens in a new window
Dutch archive for national local newspapers. (Most articles written in Dutch) - Delpher : historisch materiaal Koninklijke Bibliotheek This link opens in a new window
Historical archive for Dutch magazines, books, journals and radiobulletins from the 17th-20th century (mostly published in Dutch).
English resources
Are you looking for some practicing materials to get your English proficiency/vocabulary up to speed? Check out these links and books!
This is just a small selection of our materials on learning English. Have a look in the catalogue or visit the Library for more titles!
Dictionaries and Thesauri
You can use these resources to find (general) information on a topic and get inspiration for new, related search terms.
The Hanze Library offers access to several reliable dictionaries and thesauri, there are open access resources and some databases also have a thesaurus built in (Business Source, several medical databases).
- Van Dale Online Dictionaries This link opens in a new window
Dutch dictionaries "Groot woordenboek van de Nederlandse taal" (Dikke van Dale), "Hedendaags Nederlands" and "Spellingshulp". Handbooks NL & ENG, translation dictionaries for NL to and from EN, DE, ES, FR, IT & SE.
Also includes Oxford Dictionary of English, Oxford Thesaurus of English, Oxford Hachette (FR-EN/EN-FR) and PONS (DE-FR/FR-DE).
Download the Van Dale App - see more information below
- New Palgrave Dictionary of Economics This link opens in a new window
An encyclopedia of over 3,000 entries written by leading figures in the field of economics, regularly updated - Onroerend Goed Lexicon This link opens in a new window
The Property Lexicon. The site is in Dutch, but you can enter English terms in the search bar, and see what the Dutch equivalent is.
Minilecture Google Scholar (EN)
Theses and national research output
These are a few general databases, which consist of (among others) eBooks, articles, and theses.
- HBO Kennisbank This link opens in a new window
Search through around 55.000 publications of more than 25 universities of applied sciences - NARCIS This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
National Academic Research and Collaborations Information System, access to scientific information, including (open access) publications from the repositories of all the Dutch universities, KNAW, NWO and a number of research institutes, datasets from some data archives as well as descriptions of research projects, researchers and research institutes - Portal of Research Output from the Netherlands This link opens in a new window
This portal presents Dutch research results and research projects and is fed by Dutch institutional repositories, data and software repositories and Research Information Systems (CRIS's).
For a full overview of the available databases:
- Databases [A-Z]
All Hanze Library databases at a glance.
Other helpful resources
Here are some interesting links and other Library Guides for you to check out.