Tips

To combine searches you use so-called Boolean operators. Most databases recognize OR, AND and NOT.

OR
When you use OR, you will find publications that match one search term or the other or both search terms.
OR is used when you want to extend (OR=mORe).
E.g. "diabetes mellitus" OR diabetes

AND
You use AND if the publications must match both search terms.
If you're looking for articles on physiotherapy for diabetes, use "diabetes mellitus" AND "physical therapy modalities", or even better:
("diabetes mellitus" OR diabetes) AND ("physical therapy modalities" OR "physical therapy").
BelangrijkWhen you combine AND and OR, make sure that the ( parentheses ) are correct.
With ("diabetes mellitus" OR (diabetes AND "physical therapy modalities") OR "physical therapy) you get very different results...

NOT
When you use NOT, you exclude all publications that match a search term.
Are you looking for articles about diabetes, but not gestational diabetes,
then you can use: "diabetes mellitus" NOT "gestational diabetes".

More information can be found in either the Library Guide Literature Research, or the Evidence Based Practice Library Guide.

Index labels are the abbreviations used to indicate the information field in which you want to search. Common index labels are those for Author (au:) and Title (ti:) , but there are many other index labels.

Here are some examples:

This overview shows which items you have currently borrowed, and when the loan period expires.

You can also easily extend your loans from this screen by checking the items, and pressing the blue Renew Items button. Renewal is only possible if no one else has reserved the book. 

If you have reserved or requested a book from another (Dutch) library, these will appear in the Requests overview. 

In this overview you can see when the book is ready to be picked up, but you will also receive an email when the book is ready for you.

You can also request a title (book (chapter)/article) from another library from this screen by clicking New request and filling in the form. Be sure to check that we do not have the book/article in our own collection, as borrowing it from another library costs money (more information can be found here). 

You can find out how to reserve a book here.

Quickly see which charges are still outstanding in your account and how they are composed. You can easily pay costs at the Hanze Library (by pin).

Under search activity, there are two options:

Search history

If you're not logged in, the catalog remembers what you searched only from one session. But when you are logged in, the catalog can remember all your searches. This makes it easy to go back in your search history and find what you searched for last week or last year.

Would you rather not save this? You can easily delete old searches by selecting one or all of them from the overview below and deleting them. By the way, your search history is private, employees of the Hanze Library cannot see it.

Saved searches

If you are logged in, you will immediately see an extra option when you are searching: Save search.

For example, if you are frequently looking for which books we have on the topic "intercultural communication", you don't have to enter that search every time, but you can quickly return to that search via your account. 

Here's how it works: When you have entered and looked up the search, click Save search. You can rename the search if you want. Saved searches can be found in your account, under Search activity. You can also easily delete these searches by selecting one or more searches and clicking Delete.

Since September 2022, the Catalog can also save for you which books you have borrowed. An overview of the titles you have borrowed can be found under Borrowing history.

By default, this function is off, but you can turn it on: After logging in, you can click the option "Enable my borrowing history" in your Profile

Your borrowing history is stored for a maximum of four years. With the same button, you can also turn it off and delete the loan history yourself.

If you want to keep it again afterwards, turn the button on again.

To ensure that the list of results does not contain different editions of the same title, the 'Group editions and formats' setting is on by default. This setting (under Search Results Display) ensures that different printings of one title, and the e-book and the printed book, are collected in one search result.

An advantage is that the list is clearer, but the disadvantage is that you have to click again before you can see the e-book or an older print. (In the search overview, there is an option for each title to view other prints and material types).

Don't want the catalogue to bundle different printings and material types for you? Then you can turn this setting off in the Filter menu.

Using the share button, you can copy the link to a publication, or email it directly to someone. If you want to email several people, put a comma between the email addresses.

Remember that when you share an e-book, it is often only open to a maximum number of simultaneous users. So your classmate/colleague may not be able to read an e-book with you at the same time. You can read more about this here.

When you click Save, it is copied to your 'Saved Items' (top right).

This is a temporary list when you are not logged in: as long as you have the catalog open, your saved items are stored here. From this page, you can easily e-mail multiple items or export the citations at once. 

Do you want to save them longer than one search session? Then log in first, by clicking Sign In at the top right.

Now you get more options in Saved Items, for example to move all or some items to an existing List, or to create a new List.

Books and E-books for corporate use can be ordered by all employees from book supplier Wristers Boekverkopers B.V.

Wristers Boekverkopers B.V. is the supplier for books for corporate use, such as professional literature and study books. After coordinating with your team lead, you can order books for corporate use on the AFAS Inkoopportaal.

For more information about this procedure, follow this link.

It is possible to integrate (parts of) Library Guides in Blackboard. This makes it easy to add, for example, (parts of) the library collection, online library introductions and manuals for literature research or the use of APA guidelines from Library Guides to your courses.
The information is kept up-to-date by the library, so you will always have the most recent version of the information in your course. For more information, see: Library Guides in Blackboard - Manual for adding content.pdf or ask support from your programme's Information Specialist.

What is Curriculum Builder?

Do you use many articles and/or e-books from EBSCO databases, such as, Academic Search Premier, Business Source Ultimate, Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection, etc.?

There is a way to search EBSCO publishers' collection from the Blackboard environment and link items in BB.

How?

The EBSCO Curriculum Builder can be found as an LTI link in BlackBoard. For more information regarding Curriculum Builder check out this link : Administering Curriculum Builder (ebsco.com)

The EBSCO Curriculum Builder allows you to place content from EBSCO databases directly into Blackboard courses through a tool in Blackboard using a permalink, in addition to linking to materials outside EBSCO. The advantage of this is that the use of sources is within the rules on copyright, because you always use links. It also allows for re-use.

You can organise your sources in folders, allowing you to work at course and term level. It is also very practical for the student that everything can be found within 1 tool. The course list also provides a source list in various citation styles, such as APA and Vancouver, which can also be applied at article level. At article level, notes and instructions can be added.